Ocean Initiatives launch weekend: a big thank you!

Last weekend, from March 22nd to March 25th, the launching events of the Ocean Initiatives took place. You were many to get together all over Europe and pick up waste in your area: thank you! This 24th edition has now officially started: Surfrider’s flagship program will be active throughout the year to carry on raising awareness and working towards sustainable change. More than ever, do not let waste take over your life!

Two days of European mobilization

In Europe, more than 80 waste collections have been organized during the weekend, as well as two abroad: in Morocco and in Senegal. More than 35 collections have been organized in France, 20 in Belgium, 8 in Portugal, 4 in Italy and in Spain etc. In a word, many European citizens have answered the call during this unmissable weekend, and turned it into a real success!

The majority of the organized collections took place on beaches and on riversides. Initiating these gatherings were Surfrider Foundation Europe, other associations, athletes, and above all you, the eco-citizens. Because the Ocean initiatives aim to reach as many as possible, it is essential to bring together all types of crowds.

In total, seven collection reports have been filled up and sent to Surfrider. This process allows the identification of the types of waste that are most present, to combine data and to complete a sampling.

A beautiful dynamic during the Belgian Ocean Initiatives!

Surfrider Foundation Eneco Beach Clean Beach 2018

In Belgium, the Eneco association takes part in the Surfrider Ocean Initiatives program via their Eneco Beach Clean Up movement. Along the entire coastline, near 4 000 volunteers converged on the Belgian beaches to pick up waste. Particularly, more than 1 600 people gathered on Bankemarch beach, where Karmenu Vella, the European Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, marked the occasion with his presence. He underlined the importance of raising public awareness of the issue of aquatic waste and protecting our oceans. In total, the volunteers contributed to the collection of 5.5 tons of waste.

Large waste collection around the Bassin de la Villette in Paris

In Paris and on the initiative of the Surfrider Paris branch, about a hundred volunteers gathered around the Bassin de la Villette on Sunday to pick up, sort and analyse all sorts of waste. In about an hour and a half, the conclusion is clear: just like in previous years, the most picked up waste item remains the cigarette butt. During this 24th edition, 23 000 cigarette butts have been collected. The list goes on with beer capsules, food packaging, plastic glasses and bottles, straws, lighters… More unusual, our Parisian volunteers also found a microwave, a motorbike helmet and gas bottles. While collecting trash, volunteers were able to greet people passing by, tell them about these polluting products and explain them the good habits all of us have to adopt as soon as possible.

IO Paris test

 

Surfrider Foundation Europe would like to thank all participants to this Ocean Initiative launching weekend. This flagship program aims at resolving aquatic waste issues through education, raising awareness, participative science and lobbying.

Do not let waste invade your life: Ocean Initiatives go on throughout the year! Each and every one can get involved at various levels, by taking part in a collection or by organising your own: Surfrider commits in supporting you.

Week-end du lancement des initiatives Océanes : un grand merci !

Le week-end dernier, du 22 au 25 mars, a eu lieu le lancement des Initiatives Océanes. Partout en Europe, vous avez été nombreux à vous rassembler pour réaliser une collecte de déchets proche de chez vous : merci ! Cette 24ème édition est donc officiellement lancée. Le programme phare de Surfrider se prolonge tout au long de l’année pour continuer à sensibiliser et à œuvrer pour un changement durable. Plus que jamais, ne laissez plus les déchets vous envahir !

Un week-end de mobilisation européenne

Sur le territoire européen, plus de 80 collectes ont été réalisées pendant le week-end ainsi que deux à l’international, au Maroc et au Sénégal. Plus de 35 collectes ont été organisées en France, 20 en Belgique, 8 au Portugal, 4 en Italie et en Espagne etc. Bref, de nombreux citoyens européens ont répondu présents lors de ce week-end incontournable, pour un véritable succès !

La majorité des collectes organisées ont eu lieu sur les plages et au bord des rivières. A l’initiative de ces regroupements ? Surfrider Foundation Europe, d’autres associations, des sportifs, et surtout vous, des écocitoyens. Parce que l’objectif premier des Initiatives Océanes est de sensibiliser le plus grand nombre, il est essentiel de rassembler tous les publics.

Au total, sept fiches bilan de collecte ont été réalisées et transmises à Surfrider. Cette démarche permet d’identifier la nature des déchets les plus présents, de rassembler plusieurs données et de réaliser un échantillonnage.

Une belle dynamique lors des Initiatives Océanes belges !

Surfrider Foundation Eneco Beach Clean Beach 2018

En Belgique, l’association Eneco participe au programme des Initiatives Océanes de Surfrider avec son mouvement l’Eneco Beauch Clean Up. Sur toute la côte, près de 4000 participants ont rejoint les plages belges pour ramasser les déchets. Notamment, plus de 1 600 personnes se sont rassemblées sur la plage de Bankemarch où le Commissaire européen à l’environnement, aux affaires maritimes et à la pêche, Karmenu Vella, a fait l’honneur de sa présence. Il souligne l’importance de sensibiliser le public face au problème des déchets aquatiques et de protéger nos océans. Au total, tous les participants ont contribué à la collecte de 5.5 tonnes de déchets.

Grande collecte sur le Bassin de la Villette à Paris

A Paris, une centaine de bénévoles se sont rassemblés aux abords du Bassin de la Villette à l’initiative de l’antenne Surfrider Paris, le dimanche, pour collecter, compter, trier et analyser tous types de déchets. En 1h30 environ, le résultat est sans appel. Comme les années précédentes, l’item le plus retrouvé reste le mégot de cigarette. Pour cette 24ème édition, 23 000 mégots ont été ramassés. La liste des items collectés se rallonge avec des capsules de bières, des emballages alimentaires, des gobelets et bouteilles en plastique, pailles, briquets … Plus insolites, les parisiens ont aussi trouvé une micro-onde, un casque de moto ou des bonbonnes de gaz. Pendant la collecte, les bénévoles ont ainsi pu rencontrer les passants pour les sensibiliser à ces polluants et aux bons gestes à adopter d’urgence.

IO Paris test

 

Surfrider Foundation Europe tient à remercier l’ensemble des participants à ce week-end de lancement des Initiatives Océanes. Ce programme phare veut résoudre la problématique des déchets aquatiques au travers de l’éducation et de la sensibilisation, de la science participative et du lobby.

Ne laissez pas les déchets vous envahir : les Initiatives Océanes se poursuivent tout au long de l’année ! Tout le monde peut s’engager à différents niveaux, en participant à une collecte ou en organisant une : Surfrider s’engage à vous accompagner.